I saw and I conquered? Not Really.

Givary Muhammad
Soft Skill Research
2 min readMar 13, 2018

I was scrolling down the blog, and stumbled upon this one interesting blog entry named 7 Presentation Skills to Learn from Steve Jobs. The writer mostly highlighted some of his presentation skills, and I will respond to a couple of them.

In sharpening this skill, I believe that practice makes perfect. In another words, Steve Jobs got into the habit of preparing everything ahead due to the fact that he was not born to be a presenter. As I read through this part, I couldn’t agree less, since presenting is a continuous learning process.

I want to comment on the author’s Rule of Three aspect. It didn’t really quite fit into the article as a whole, since it mainly talked specifically for Steve Jobs but not for everyone else. Let me explain. So the author wrote that “Rule of Three states that things that come in threes are easier to remember than in any other number and Jobs had almost imbibed it.” and frankly speaking, not everyone is suited for this kind of method. Without discrediting the author, it might be on the best interest of the readers which method they prefer for practicing presenting skills e.g. with notecards or memorizing big concepts rather than words-per-words.

Other than that, I mostly do agree that presenting should be packed in a “formal but informal” style- creating it like a story, throw in fun stuffs, and no stage frights. Indeed, Jobs were one of the influential tech guy you’ve ever heard of, but the notion of typical tech guy here does not belong to him. He worked his way up to a big presenter in the tech world. I’d say that he did not saw and did not conquered. Through practice, it’d look like that he brought his well-spoken presentation.

Reference: G. (2017, February 06). 7 Presentation Skills to learn from Steve Jobs — Gyaantastic — Medium. Retrieved March 1, 2018, from https://medium.com/@gyaantastic/7-presentation-skills-to-learn-from-steve-jobs-8fbfdebc4fc4

--

--

Givary Muhammad
Soft Skill Research

Turning coffee into words and meaningful numbers, mostly.