Decision Making: Emotions.

Karlie Tran
Soft Skill Tips: Decision Making
2 min readOct 2, 2017

Decision making related to emotional stable. It’s really familiar when people say “don’t make a permanent decision for your temporary emotion”. Why? Because when one person is emotionally unstable, he/she will easily make a wrong decision that he/she will regret about it. These decisions hurt people surrounding and himself/herself. Therefore no one should ever make a decision while he/she is unhappy.

Sometimes when I am angry, I make inconsiderate decision that hurt people I love. I throw my belongings, break the furnitures and yell at people.

Sometimes when I’m sad, I can make wrong choice too. I may quit studying, drop out or harm myself, …

Sometimes when I’m stressful, I just give up on everything and miss potential opportunities in my life.

A lot of bad decisions are made especially when someone is mental breakdown such as break up, fighting, job quit, …

Emotions influence my choice. So what did I do to stop myself from angrily/sadly make a decision? I just leave everything on a break to calm myself down. I go for a walk, take a shower or go to bed.

One of my college friend, Morgan Anderson said: “If you only focus on the huge stress in your life, you will become overwhelmed and easily stuck in place. But, if you chunk things up into smaller pieces, it is so much easier to conquer.”

Anderson gives me advice on how to manage my emotions. I realize all I need is time to think so I can rationally decide anything. As Anderson says, I need to “chunk things up into smaller pieces” so I can analyze the situation, secure my thought and calm my mind.

I believe if I can stabilize my emotions professionally, I can make right decisions efficiently.

Source: Anderson Morgan. (2017). Managing Stress as an Undergraduate Student. https://medium.com/morgan-manages-stress/managing-stress-as-an-undergraduate-student-d8dba2dcb03a

--

--