Decision Making: Ethics.

Karlie Tran
Soft Skill Tips: Decision Making
2 min readOct 1, 2017

One thing that affects my decision making is ethics. One choice can influence not only myself but also other people. In business, it is really common when decisions are between morals and profits.

In one of his co-writing book “Decision Making”, Paul Whysall said: “The whole idea that there is scope for a discussion of ethics in business decision making is initially surprising to many people. Such people would perhaps take a view that business is solely about making profits or that in business all the moral conventions of private life are in abeyance”.

In this example, I have to put the ethics and profits into comparison. Will I do something illegal for money or will I follow my moral principal and deny the factory’s offer?

For income benefits, first I can make a lot of money from the price differences. Secondly, I can use this money to open more stores, hire more employers therefore create more job opportunities.

But follow my moral principles, first it is illegal to sell fake clothes under designer’s brands representation. I will lose all of my customers and brands’ contracts if I’m exposed is second issue. Thirdly, my career corruption will lead to job lost for many of my employers. Therefore, my choice not only effect myself but also people around me.

I believe if I am put into this example in real life or any similar situation, I will choose to follow my moral. I believe a wise decision will help me and others, not the other way around.

Source: Jennings, D., & Wattam, S. (1998). Decision Making: An Intergrated Approach.

--

--