For the Life of Acupressure

Mo Ortega
Body and Spine
Published in
2 min readJul 31, 2019
Click on pic for online course information

My life has always wanted energy movement in it and that reflected in my career choice to become a Massage Therapist, a bodywork career which proceeded my Foot Reflexology practice. Foot Reflexology was what peeked my interested in acupressure. My clients response to reflexology and to point treatment intrigued me to further educate myself in acupressure. Thailand offered my first learning experience.

Chiang Mai, Thailand teaches an ancient healing energy system among the hustle of a city. Nestled amongst working Buddhist temples are Thai Massage schools which offer various levels of Thai yoga, including advanced levels of acupressure and teacher training. I soaked it up and it breathed new life into my massage practice.

As I incorporate Acupressure, my deep tissue work has greatly changed. I find that muscles released easy. My clients like that I could address their issues and still do a full body massage within a 60 minute session. I’m less tired because I no longer have to work my body into exhaustion to get results.

As I learned energy lines, my massage evolved into more of a holistic approach, making my sessions balance the whole body. My Medical Massage practice is refined. I treat specific issues within my professional scope of practice using Acupressure points.

Furthermore, I appreciate how Acupressure is proven to work though:

  • Mechanoreceptors affecting the skin through pressure
  • Fascia Release and Manipulation
  • Biochemical Stimulation by the Central Nervous System

My perception continues to change as I see how acupuncture is a slower mode of application of acupuncture points. It makes sense to me that historically, Acupuncture is possibly the predecessor of Acupressure.

As my respect for Acupuncture grows, I have developed my own form of acupressure which allows me to stay in my own professional scope of practice. I melded east and west into a technique which can be incorporated into any massage style or massage session in these ways:

  • Deepening Soft Tissue Manipulation
  • Treatment of Pain through Energetic Pathways
  • Balancing the Whole Body
  • Speeding up Healing Process
  • Releasing Deep Fascia
  • Minimized Practitioner Effort with Greater Results

My practice has now expanded to private lessons, online classes and live workshops.

For more information on professional training on the Online Fundamental of Acupressure go to: http://www.thaimassageseminars.com/online-courses.html

--

--

Mo Ortega
Body and Spine

Over 20 years of medical massage and skin care expertise!