Thai Sumana Energy Line Saved Massage

Mo Ortega
Body and Spine
Published in
3 min readMay 9, 2018

After graduation, my goal was to be able to give the deepest of deep tissue massage. I would drop the table and lean in with elbows, fingers and forearms in hopes of relieving whatever pain my client was feeling. Though fundamentally I was taught to be mindful of my body mechanics, I was more concerned if a client was pain free rather than paying attention to my own body. At times I was left with sore hands and a painful back.

As my client list grew, I knew that I had to find a way to remain pain free while having a full schedule.

In 2012, I traveled to Chiang Mai, Thailand and continued to feed my passion for body work. I knew that I was going to study in a traditional way and that it would be physically demanding. However, I also had the intention of infusing what I learned into my western style massage to not only improve my effectiveness but also extend my career while being good to my body.

I work with three different Sen(Energy)Lines for almost every massage I give. The Sumana Sen Line is one that I value above the rest.

  • All Chakras pass through the Sumana Sen Line
  • Alleviates Pain in Digestive System
  • Relieves spasm in the Diaphragm
  • Relieves Asthma and Respiratory System

Learn More:

DIY: Thai CBD Therapeutic Balm Course

Acupressure for Neck Injury

Sumana & Chakra

The result of the Sumana line having all Chakra Systems located on its path allows me rebalance energy by simply palm walking, thumb pressing and stretching the Sumana line. The technique not only saves my body but allows me to effectively treat my client on a physical level and on an energetic level as well.

Sumana & Intestine

Much of the Traditional Thai Medicine, which includes Thai Massage, can be traced back to Dr. Javago a Ayurvedic Physician from India. The Thai Sumana Sen line treat the Intestine which is considered to be the seat of disease or imbalance. Interestingly, the Lymphatic System is most concentrated in the Intestines and influences cleansing of the interstitial spaces, including the space around the intestine which is largely permeable. In Traditional Chinese Medicine the Large Intestine is Yin(Water)/Metal.

Sumana & Diaphragm

The Diaphragm is a muscle that helps control breath and protects vital organs. Although, I have gentle techniques that directly release diaphragm, the process can take a whole session. I find that people who have had physical or emotional trauma often hold their breath. By simply working the Sumana line I can indirectly effect the diaphragm and assist my client into a deep relaxing state. If I work the minor Sumana Sen line on the back of the legs, I can still balance Sumana energy for clients that feel uncomfortable with their torso being touched.

Sumana & Lungs

Fascinating how Chinese Medicine is incorporated into Thai Traditional Medicine. In TCM, the large intestine correlates with the lungs. A well known fact, asthma is largely triggered by emotions. Working the Sumana line can assist with Asthma and helps to calm the breath.

To Learn More:

--

--

Mo Ortega
Body and Spine

Over 20 years of medical massage and skin care expertise!