Trying to use presentation skills

Yiqin Xiao
presentation skills
2 min readMar 1, 2018

Before I try to the presentation skills I thought that I should figure out what is the presentation and what the process of presentation. From the google I learned that Presentation skills are the skills you need in delivering effective and engaging presentations to a variety of audiences. These skills cover a variety of areas such as the structure of your presentation, the design of your slides, the tone of your voice and the body language you convey.

Basically, we need 10–20 slides to make up for a presentation. We need limit time to do the presentation. Usually setting 20 minutes, you are challenging yourself to leave out unnecessary details and focus on the important stories that will convey your message. Using 30-size font that make most audiences will be able to see text.

Follow this formula, I opened the PPT that I used to doing the presentation. I tried to find what things I should improving in my presentation skills. I found the drawback of my past PPT.

  1. I put too much text information in my ppt.
  2. I setting the font size too small.
  3. I didn’t put enough picture to excites the imagination of audience.
  4. The slides is not enough. I put bunch of things in a slide.

Then, I try to review the old topic and do the presentation to myself. Before I do the presentation, I put my phone in front of me so that I can record myself to see the performance of me. It took me 8 minute to finish presentation. When I playback the video,I found the problems.

  1. I stopped for a while, stuck for the right word. Using too much “um… eh…
  2. I didn‘t look at my camera, I just look around. Seems that I try to remember my content.
  3. I didn’t use my body language often. I kept still.

I believe that those mistakes are usually people made in their presentation. If we can figure those mistakes out we can do a perfect presentation. I try to correct some of the problems in next stories. We’ll continue to focus on the presentation skills!

--

--