Real Example of using TestCafe. Browser Automation in 10 minutes

Dmitry Yarygin
Software Testing: Break and Improve
4 min readJan 13, 2023

--

Photo by Growtika Developer Marketing Agency on Unsplash

Hello there. I’m a Test Engineer and have been performing testing for the past ten years. I’ve seen the rise of Selenium/WebDriver and the rapid development of new tools and frameworks.

This is an exciting time to be an automation Test Engineer because we have many tools available.

One of my favorite ones is TestCafe. I worked with it closely on multiple projects, and I want to share my experience creating simple and reusable scripts.

We are going to take a look at the practical sample of using TestCafe for 2 cases:

  1. Performing testing (Entering Text and Clicking the Buttons)
  2. Going through the multiple links and verifying that 404 pages are not shown

We will perform the tests on Google’s main search page and a few website sections.

Setup

Let’s discuss how to make our tests work:

  1. Install Visual Studio Code
  2. Grab the Node.JS

--

--

Dmitry Yarygin
Software Testing: Break and Improve

Nomad lifestyle writer. Passionate about breaking software— QA Engineer. My Travel & Tech YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/nomadicdmitry