Make your Office your Happy Place: Healthy Habits That Also Increase Your Productivity

The SolaVieve Team
SolaVieve
Published in
5 min readJan 13, 2021

You can prioritise your health at work — Beatriz tells you how

Illustration by SolaVieve

Day in and day out, we spend most of our time at work, and our work can have a great impact on our health. Once I sit down and start typing on my computer, time flies; sometimes, I’m not even aware of how the lack of breaks in my day may be affecting my health. Prolonged periods of screen time usually cause feelings of exhaustion and a lack of focus. In addition to increasing our productivity, adopting healthier habits at the workplace can greatly improve our health.

The success of our day in the office doesn’t depend on the number of hours we work, but on the quality of the time we spend there. In other words, we will successfully finish our tasks by using our time well as opposed to just trying to get as much done as possible. Working for a company focused on preventive and holistic health has helped me realize how important it is to adopt a healthier lifestyle that increases my productivity and boosts my wellness.

Biking to the office: The opportunity to live in a city where most people bike to work is one of the perks I value most. A culture that encourages cycling makes it easier for me to ride the bike every morning, even if it’s snowing. This way, I make sure to start and finish the day with some exercise; this is a great way to increase your energy and get a much-needed rush of endorphins at both the beginning and end of my workday.

Stairs, stairs, stairs: Every time I can, I avoid using the lift. Taking the stairs is a great way to get some exercise, though we don’t usually think of it that way. Most days, I leave the office 3–4 times per day to take calls or have a break, and I’ve noticed that using the stairs every time I do has made me feel healthier and, as a result, happier over time!

Taking enough breaks: Once we finish a task, there’s almost always another one waiting right there on the to-do list. However, we won’t finish them any more efficiently by avoiding breaks. Breaks help you keep your productivity up throughout the day by helping you stay fresh and motivated. Sometimes I stand up and just look out the window while stretching. This might seem almost too simple a movement to have any effect on our health, but when I go back to my laptop, I have a fresh mind and more energy to keep up the quality of my work.

Lunch away from my desk: I used to have an unhealthy habit of eating my lunch while writing emails. But recently, I’ve become more cognizant of how harmful that is for my health. Mindful eating, being present while eating our food, is very important for our health. Feeling satisfaction, improved physical health, better eating behaviours, or a stronger connection to the environment are some of the benefits of mindful eating. In addition, using lunch time to catch up with colleagues is certainly one of my favorite moments of the day and it gives you an opportunity to improve your social wellbeing as well.

Planning our meals: At the office, we’ve come up with a system in which we take turns preparing lunch every day. It is a great way to make sure we eat healthily. Our individual daily routines can be busy at times, and we might not always find the time to cook properly every day. I enjoy cooking for my colleagues once in a while, and having lunch together on a daily basis helps us bond and share quality time. Besides eating healthy, homemade dishes every day, we also boost our social health. It is not always easy to follow this schedule, however, but there are other options you can try, such as batch cooking. It is definitely worth trying!

Lots of water: Water is one of the most important nutrients for our bodies. Once immersed in our daily tasks, we might forget to drink water as frequently as we should. I usually have a glass of water next to my computer, and once it’s empty, I use that time to take a break while filling it up. You might be thinking: but it only takes a minute…Well, that much might be true, but it’s really more than ‘just a minute’; it’s a chance for your mind to take a break from the computer while moving from your chair: these are small but impactful. Going back at it with a glass of water and a fresh mind is always better than letting your mind and body stagnate at your desk.

Meditation and walking breaks: At our offices, we’ve invested in yoga mats and other fitness material. Making use of breaks to meditate or exercise can be highly beneficial for your health. Our minds are constantly working, and letting them rest for a while is essential. On the other hand, taking a walk with a colleague, or having a midday call helps to maintain a positive mind and avoid feeling tired. There’s no such thing as too much fresh air and movement for the body — after all, that is what it was made for.

Music therapy: We sometimes play music in our office and the kind of music we choose to play depends on the tasks we are doing. If it is time to focus, the music will be chosen accordingly. Nature sounds or electronic music can help you concentrate on your task; music without lyrics is always better when you need to focus. However, if we are all doing other tasks that don’t require a lot of focus, we usually play happier music to sing along to! During lunch, for example, we play music that is good for digestion, such as classical or slow jazz. In our office there is a different kind of music for every part of the day.

Decorating the office: On weekdays, we may often spend more time in the office than at home, so creating a work environment in which you’re as comfortable as you are at home is essential. The way that the workspace is organized — including the layout of the furniture and the decorations — can really improve the energy in the office. We’ve recently started decorating the office with candles and plants here and there. Using decorations like these can make you feel more comfortable in your workplace and even stimulate your creativity.

There are certainly numerous healthy habits we can adopt while working that will have a positive impact on our overall wellness. Aside from boosting my productivity, the healthier lifestyle in my workplace has also benefited my social life. Once my workday is over, I always leave the office with a positive mindset and much more energy for the rest of my day than ever before.

Written by Beatriz Martinez

--

--

The SolaVieve Team
SolaVieve

We’re the writing team behind SolaVieve. We’re all about improving health and wellness through a holistic, preventative lifestyle.