Most Blockchain Developers Complain About Scalability (I Do Too) Hence My Workaround Is Sharding

Ravinder Deol
Solidity Weekly
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2020

👉 Interviews Are Now Only Available Via Our Newsletter.

Name: Abdelrahman Hazem

Role: Blockchain Developer @ Taibah Valley

Location: Saudi Arabia

We are introducing Abdelrahman Hazem. A blockchain developer at Taibah Valley, located in Saudi Arabia. He is currently leading a fintech startup for decentralized finance (Defi) payment processing.

1. When Was Your First Encounter With Blockchain Technology?

Early 2016 is when I came to know the Ethereum platform and smart contracts, which I found interesting, because of the ability to apply business models of corporations onto the blockchain.

It was at this moment I came upon blockchain technology in detail. Since then, it has been a lot of fun diving further into this technology.

2. Which Industry Are You Implementing The Blockchain In?

I previously worked on a petrochemical blockchain-enabled supply chain project and a certificate authentication system for academia. The one I’m busy with right now is a decentralized finance (Defi) philanthropic system.

3. What Kind Of Projects Have You Developed In Blockchain?

I’ve developed a fair amount of Enterprise PoC projects, as well as the certificate authentication system for academia I mentioned (in production).

Besides that, I’m the founder & CEO of donachain.com, decentralized finance (Defi) philanthropic platform for the charity ecosystem powering payments.

4. Which Industry Could Get The Most From Blockchain?

Banking was the beginning, but ultimately the uses cases are endless. Blockchain can play a large part in traceability, proof-of-delivery, and securely tracking contract details which are at risk of data tampering.

On the topic of efficiency for a supply chain focussed business, we’ve seen Alibaba file for a patent around a blockchain-based transaction system. The license proves corporates believe in the use-cases of blockchain technology.

5. Describe Any Problem You’ve Faced Recently With Blockchain?

Most blockchain developers complain about scalability — I do too. One of my workarounds is sharding. The idea behind sharding is that if the blockchain is divided into shards, then nodes won’t be required to process all the data.

Other solutions like replacing PoW with PoS, or even using a decentralized storing mechanism can all be feasible for different use cases.

--

--

Ravinder Deol
Solidity Weekly

Every week, I sit down to write my newsletter in which I share a piece of work that has inspired, motivated and challenged me. Join me — ravinderdeol.com.