Fellowship

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral
Published in
3 min readFeb 3, 2023
Photo property of author

In a room, the walls bare

Tables and chairs reside there

A utility purpose on most days

Today hosts a mini holiday

A time for fellowship and and food

A time to lift the average mood

A time to be a person instead of a cog in the machine

I sit in a chair and watch the room

Food is mandatory but being a wallflower is voluntary

I watch as they group up in their social circles

Laughing and chatting in their spheres of the familiar

A forgotten break overshadowed by the pandemic years

Here there are none of life’s concerns

They are all here in character without fear

They head the table and circulate the room

A show for this people watching loner of the universe

It reminds me that I too can converse

It reminds me of days gone by

When I was just one of the guys

For today I shall give thanks

As I walk among their ranks

Until it is time to return again to my place in the machine

And remain mostly sight unseen

Blending into the green around me

For today a reminder that there are people to meet

And they are in the same seat in which they held yesterday

But tomorrow there may be a new way

Be well and be you, I love seeing the fun side of everyone

Solitude Spiral invites authors and poets to contact us and join our team of writers! Contact us to discuss opportunities!

If you liked this piece, or any others on Medium, please like by clapping and please share. It only takes a second of your time and means so much to the authors like Kyri Lyn. Thanks!

If you haven’t signed up for Medium, you can support other writers and me for only $5 per month (less than a Mocha Latte Pumpkin Chai Whip Cream Diabetes Embracing Coffee!) by joining up:

You can join my Medium mailing list to get more stories like this one — or you can join my private mailing list for even more content. I’d also love your support via my Patreon. I’m getting up and running and need all the positive vibes and support I can get.

If you would like me to cover a particular topic or would like to write for any of my publications, you can contact me here.

Or peruse one of my Medium Mags:

--

--

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral

I am a mom, a musician, writer, a wife, and a Soldier. Learning to love life again.