Safe and Unsafe

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2023
(Photo by Alessandro Bianchi on Unsplash)

UNSAFE:

Which was worse?

The touchy dad or the same from the man you call uncle?

The school bully or the family that though “toughening you up” was cool.

Accepting the conditioning?

Uncertainty and being certain things were uncertain.

False hope or false love.

Being good, but never good enough.

Loving the addict or hating the ravages of their addiction

Dad’s empty promises.

The constant threat of grandma‘s wrath.

Knowing you’re right and being told you are always wrong and not believing in me.

The past.

SAFE ZONES:

Grandpa’s car.

Grandpa‘s arms.

Aunt Barbara’s house (sometimes).

The band room.

My imagination.

When people showed me they loved me.

People like me.

My car.

My spouse.

The great outdoors.

Deep conversations with people who get it.

The present.

Believing I have a future.

Believing in me.

If you liked this piece, or any others on Medium, please like by clapping and please share. It only takes a second of your time and means so much to the authors like me. Thanks!

If you haven’t signed up for Medium, you can support this poet and this publication for only $5 per month (less than a Mocha Latte Pumpkin Chai Whip Cream Diabetes Embracing Coffee!) by joining up:

If you would like to write for Solitude Spiral, you can contact the editor here.

Or write for one of our other popular Medium Mags:

--

--

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral

I am a mom, a musician, writer, a wife, and a Soldier. Learning to love life again.