Short Time Me

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2023
Commissioned sketch: Gene Stout, 2023

It was New Year’s Eve
I had finally won my reprieve
From this chapter of games
How did I remain sane?
The clock pops up over my head
It speaks of a new dread
And a freeing
Of my true being
All the years
All the tears
Not to be in vain
Now I am well trained
Tick tock
Goes the clock
I look back to see
What is behind me
Who I was
What I have become
Despite myself
Despite them
The image
A constant to manage
Hair chopped
Identity lopped
Off at the knees
Just to please
The ones in green
To remain unseen
The sands of time
Often seemed unkind
Tick tock
Time never stops
It seemed a charade
The game I played
It was long
I had to seem strong
In times I felt weak
Stupid and meek
I’ll miss them all
Maybe a call
A card or letter
Will remind them I see
What they can be
A success
No matter the pace of progress
My time slips away
And I must say
Good bye
I gave it my best try
May it be enough
Because it was tough
To be the one
Who controlled the sun
While I was blind
In a world unkind
When I walk away
And they may say
I hope you visit another day
I’ll know my time wasn’t wasted
And hastened
A betterment for me and you
I shall look for clues
Of success
And progress

If you liked this piece, or any others on Medium, please like by clapping and please share. It only takes a second of your time and means so much to the authors like me. Thanks!

We’re promoting Kyrilyn — and encouraging her to become a Medium paid writer! Clap, clap!!

If you haven’t signed up for Medium, you can support other writers, like Kyrilyn, and me for only $5 per month (less than a Mocha Latte Pumpkin Chai Whip Cream Diabetes Embracing Coffee!) by joining up and subscribing to the newsletter:

If you would like me to cover a particular topic or would like to write for any of my publications, you can contact me here.

Or peruse one of my Medium Mags:

--

--

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral

I am a mom, a musician, writer, a wife, and a Soldier. Learning to love life again.