The Rejection Connection

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral
Published in
3 min readMay 16, 2023
Photo by Fardin Khan on Unsplash

The voices in my head are ugly creatures

They possess shadowy, twisted features

Brought on by lack of connection

And the curse of problemed perfection

Left to my own devices

The self-doubt rises

It bubbles up during the day

And shouts loudly at night

The four walls of home

Offer no respite

From the torture

From the loss

From the damaged view

I’m unable to toss

Away like trash

Instead I rehash

The mistakes made

The words people said

The fact that they lead

Me away from being true

from seeing the view

That there is greatness

In the spaces

Of my mind

Of my being

Of my existence

Here in the place

I offer myself no grace

Only the lies

Built upon the ties

Of a jaded memory

Of broken femininity

Boys have the power

Girls only get flowers

If you don’t listen to what I say

You’ll get the belt today

How is it to be

That I am not my own best company?

Because I am well trained

By The bully’s refrain

It’s stuck like a song in my head

The words repeat instead

Of fading away

Like when the DJ

Is ready to move to the next song

Cue it up and sing along

The rest of the world is too busy for me

So they never see

The dreams

Hear the screams

I fight to take its power

It is a troublesome hour

A fight between the dark and light

To clear my sight

And my head

Of the voices

That have fed

The demons of disconnection

I forgot to mention

They are monsters of my own making

As I refuse to partake in

A life well lived

As I continue to give and give

Hoping that in return

Someone will have the right word

That sets my soul free

From this monstrous symphony

Of the rejection connection

If you liked this piece, or any others on Medium, please like by clapping and please share. It only takes a second of your time and means so much to the authors like me. Thanks!

If you haven’t signed up for Medium, you can support this poet and this publication for only $5 per month (less than a Mocha Latte Pumpkin Chai Whip Cream Diabetes Embracing Coffee!) by joining up:

If you would like to write for Solitude Spiral, you can contact the editor here.

Or write for one of our other popular Medium Mags:

--

--

Dreamer Kyrilyn
Solitude Spiral

I am a mom, a musician, writer, a wife, and a Soldier. Learning to love life again.