aj
soloauto
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2016

--

Atlanta’s Caffeine & Octane is usually a more crowded, less exciting version of the high-end Caffeine & Exotics that also takes place in the city, but for May’s show, there were some excellent cars on display like a paint-to-sample RS Grün GT3 RS, a McLaren 675 LT, and the 2017 Audi R8.

I decided to take both my kit lens and my 55–210 lens to see what kind of interesting shots I could get with the latter. Honestly, I might exclusively shoot cars with the zoom lens from now on because of how well the focal length works and how much detail I can grab in each shot. And the bokeh on it produces is luscious! But enough of that; I’ll let you enjoy some pictures now!

McLaren 675LT shot with the zoom lens! The rear of this car is really something.
This E30 M3 has appeared before, but I can’t help myself in taken multiple photos of this one at every show.
Old or new? Personally I’m still a huge fan of the original R8 just because of the sideblade, but 2017’s model looks great as it embodies that violent sexiness from its Lamborghini cousin, the Huracán.
The owner of this particular i8 was inviting anyone to sit inside the car. I would’ve taken up the offer if I wasn’t so mesmerized by the exterior!
Vertical shots are my favorite for Instagram’s layout. They’re great for highlighting details like the rears of these two cars.
A US law in 1974 brought ugly impact bumpers to the lovely Porsche 911, but it barely brings down this Targa’s appearance.
Yeah, there’s some weird HDR ghosting happening in this shot, but the extra dynamic range really brings out the beauty in this Ford GT.
Speaking of the GT, check out this classic GT40! Made quite the noise coming into the show.
Very few people tend to hang around the classics, but I love the look of old Mercedes roadsters.
Almost no love going around for this old Triumph either, but even with those US bumpers, I still needed to admire it.
Old Mustangs, however, always have a good bit of fans! Luckily, I was able to get a shot without them!
Two of my favorite detail shots of the 675LT. The pipes are ridiculous on this car!
Like I said, I like the old R8 better, but this photo really pleases me. The contrast between the red and black really looks great here.
Ryan Hardwick’s paint-to-sample RS Grün GT3 RS was almost impossible to capture without hoards of people around.

That’s all I have for now! There’s a show called “Ferraris and Cappuccinos” that may or may not be happening on May 21 at Buckhead Atlanta, and the reason I’m confused is because I can only find one article about it.

(For more images of cars, feel free to check out solo.auto, my dedicated Instagram page for automotive photography)

--

--