solo.auto x jx.xh / an editing collab

Trading pictures with one of my favorite automotive photographers in Atlanta

aj
soloauto

--

I just bought Lightroom earlier this week, and so far, it’s been a solid upgrade from just using Apple Photos for editing RAW shots. I love having a fun, new learning experience as well. Unfortunately, the river of content I usually pump out over on my Instagram is starting to dry up, and I haven’t had many opportunities to take new pictures of cars.

Luckily, Jeremy (@jx.xh over on Instagram) sent me a message saying he wanted to edit some of my pics, and I figured it’d be a good opportunity to edit some of his as well. I’ve spent some time over the past few months doing some basic edits for friends but I haven’t had the chance to properly edit another photographer’s RAW files.

First up, here’s the small set of pictures I edited:

This shot was originally a little wider, but I wanted to draw attention to the Genesis.
I have a habit of turning down the highlights in my edits, and this shot serves as a clear example.
On this one, I wanted to make sure I could maintain the autumn warmth but also make sure the GT-R stayed a pearly white.
I didn’t change too much on this shot, except for tuning the white balance to give it a slightly warmer look.
I think this is my favorite shot in the set. The Huracán is already a striking car, but I was able to pull in plenty of data from the shadows to make sure each part of the car could be fully seen. The framing of this shot is just superb!
I wanted to pull more color and texture out of the sky, but the highlights were already too blown out in this one. A lovely shot nonetheless, although it’s strange to see a GT-R without a rear spoiler!

Jeremy’s shots are already pretty great without my help, but the real reason you should give him a follow comes with his editing prowess. I keep saying that he’s going for that film look, like VSCO’s Film presets, but he insists that he “doesn’t wanna look like presets…i wanna look dope.”

Well, I can assure you that his edits do look pretty damn dope, and breathe plenty of new life into my own shots. See for yourself:

Jeremy’s editing on this shot is immaculate. The contrast between the car and everything else is insane!

(If you liked this post, you should definitely go ahead and follow jx.xh over on Instagram! And as always, you can find more of my work over at solo.auto)

--

--