The Power of Cosy

Let’s all eat biscuits in the dark.

David McIlroy
Solopreneur Startup
2 min readJan 24, 2024

--

Canva image.

Wind, rain, thunder.

Even the most turbulent times create opportunities.

Here in the UK, we’ve been battered by storms all week. We’re really not equipped to deal with it, either.

I found myself sitting in the dark munching on digestive biscuits on Sunday night after the electric cut out for the second time.

I wished I’d bothered to light the fire.

I wish there’d been something more interesting to eat in the kitchen than digestive biscuits (as nice as they are).

The power of cosy imagery

I wasn’t alone in feeling the ominous impact of the storm, either.

There were undoubtedly countless people on social media in that moment posting about their experience, seeking the comfort of cosy winter imagery on their feeds.

Blazing fireplaces. Flickering candlelight. Steaming cocoa.

Talk about an opportunity for small business owners!

--

--