Everything Changes

Erica OGrady
1 min readNov 14, 2012

My friend Sloane always says that if you walk 20 minutes in any direction - everything changes.

I’ve tested this theory on the cobbled streets of Paris, across the Danube in Budapest, in the Seattle neighborhood of Ballard, and on the boardwalks of Venice Beach - each and every time I’ve stumbled on an adventure.

Today, I tested this theory in my own backyard. There is nothing more unfamiliar than the familiar. After all we tend to take the familiar for granted. Walking through the streets surrounding my home I ventured up one hill and down another until I found myself in the mountains behind NCAR (National Center for Atmospheric Research). As I looked out on views of my favorite city from angles I’d never seen before - I realized that Sloane’s theory had once again held true.

I think sometimes we forget that you don’t have to travel across oceans or continents to find adventure. Sometimes 20 minutes in any direction can change everything.

--

--

Erica OGrady

Writer, Adventurer, Avid-Shoe Wearer, Still Believes in Santa. Practicing My Way Through Life.