4: The “unimportant stuff” can be the most important

NickBastone
Some things I learned at Square
2 min readAug 3, 2015

After a few weeks, you will get so busy with your core work that you’ll want to stop participating in the “unimportant stuff.” These are the social events and guest speakers and hack week projects. They may seem like a waste of time (at the time), but allow yourself to get involved.

About a year into my work at Square, I took on a seemingly unimportant project for our orientation week. The idea was that everyone who worked at Square should be able to sell our product. And since I was one of the few people in the office who had experience selling Square, they needed my help. At the time, I was on the Chargebacks team and so it literally had nothing to do with my core work. But it sounded exciting, so I agreed to help.

Each week I’d lead a group of new hires to Sightglass Coffee. I’d explain to them how Sightglass was using the product, what features they loved, and what features they wanted us to build. Beyond this scripted tour, the more important parts were the conversations and the relationships formed during those walks for coffee. I was meeting people on their first day. They were nervous and didn’t know anyone. I was one of the first people to tell them about Square, answer their questions, and essentially say, “Don’t worry. This place is awesome. You will be fine!” And people remembered that.

I can’t tell you how many connections I made along those walks. At the time, I had no idea how I’d interact with these people down the road. But more often than not, I would. And when I had a question or needed help on a particular project, it didn’t start with an introduction but rather a, “What’s up, Nick! How can I help?” And that’s the place you want to start from.

Mentorship programs might get tossed into this category of “unimportant stuff” as well — don’t let that happen! Having mentors can be one of the most valuable things you do at Square. And even if it’s not a formal mentorship program, pick out people within the company who you think are interesting and have the job that you want one day. Don’t set up “30 minutes” or ask them to get coffee. Ask them for lunch — everyone has to eat. Sarah Friar (our CFO) said that each week she tries to have lunch with someone new or someone within her network outside of Square. I challenge you to do the same.

Again, get your core work done, but always remember to get creative and get involved. The relationships you form will be invaluable to your effectiveness at Square.

--

--