Plamen Valchev, photo courtesy of Plamen Valchev.

Sales and Business Development Manager | Plamen Valchev.

Jan Water
3 min readDec 9, 2021

Comfortably perched in a gaming chair in his living room office sits the 32-year-old Plamen. With two laptops open in front of him, he awaits a conference call with a possible new client. Appearing comfortable and confident, Plamen is a Sales and Business Development Manager (SBDM) for Devision Bulgaria and prospecting is his domain.

Devision provides talented personnel for companies based in Western Europe and North America that lack the skills themselves or that could use the extra workforce to meet their deadlines.

As an International Relations graduate, Plamen has worked various jobs, but decided to switch to sales, with a focus on the software industry. When asked why he turned away from his field of study he replies: “It is tough to grow and develop in this corner [International Relations], especially in Bulgaria.”

Plamen took a gamble by switching careers seeing as how his main task as SBDM is prospecting. This means he meets with possible clients with the aim of placing Devision in a positive light and establishing relationships that benefit shared interests. Plamen says: “I spend half my day in conference calls and spend the other half trying to set up other calls.”

Whilst this might sound hectic or tiring to some, Plamen actually feels the exact opposite: “It somehow happens naturally.” He adores being close to where interesting things are happening, these moments are vivid and emotional: “When I’m not talking to people, that is when I’m losing my energy.”

When asked if he is content with his career switch, Plamen nods thoughtfully before stating: “I’m exactly in my place here. There is a lot to explore and there is this craving to evolve. I know I’m not the best, but what keeps me moving is that I want to be better.”

Even when working from home during the pandemic, Plamen established a professional work ethic for himself. His workday starts at eight in the morning, furthermore, he dresses up the way he would if he would go to the office. No t-shirt and sweatpants, even if he has no calls that day, he finds it important to keep up a professional attitude.

This helps him retain a healthy work-life balance saying: “I’m very strict on when it is time for work and when it is about fun, I try to create a symbiosis.” Plamen then combines this with a self-improving attitude, saying: “I feel best when I don’t feel like I’m working but doing it for myself.”

This shows in the manner Plamen goes about his hobby of writing sports articles as a side job. He is a passionate football (soccer) fan but has little time to watch the games. This is why he extracts data and results from European leagues and writes about them, saying: “To me writing is a kind of art that makes my mind, not exactly relax, but think in a different direction.”

When Plamen relaxes, he does not simply lie down and sleep, he switches between activities: “I’m taking a break after work, I sit down and write a couple of things. I’m switching between what’s good and what’s interesting.”

In five years Plamen aims to be five-time better in terms of skills and connections, stating: “In a professional sense, I just want to grow and become a better version of what I am doing now.”

When asked if he has any advice for others he has the following to say: “It might sound a bit like some of these super-rich and famous people would say like Jeff Bezos, Richard Branson or Elon Musk but it is just true. Follow your dreams and be the best version of yourself.”

Plamen Valchev, photo courtesy of Plamen Valchev.

###

Jan Water is studying Creative Media and Game Technology in the Netherlands. Interested in real stories by real people.

--

--

Jan Water

A Dutch Art and Technology Student currently enjoying a minor at the American University in Bulgaria (AUBG). Adding value to the world with creative thinking.