I’m Tired of Being the Pool Guy

This year’s pool opening represents my retirement from the DIY homeowner union.

Christopher Robin
Something About Nothing

--

“The Opening”. Photo by author

I’ve been enjoying my inground pool for 8 years and counting. But maintaining this luxury is not for the faint of heart. For anyone who thinks having a pool is a dream come true, you better have a nice paycheck to pay someone else to maintain it. Otherwise, you’re stuck with a pile of manual labor and math/science problems you hadn’t thought of since 8th grade.

Because of the mild winter in the northeast US, and a warm, early spring, I’ve had to spring into pool-guy mode a little earlier than normal this year. Having a pool is a labor of love, and sometimes requires labor of a more manual variety. I’ve now been laboring for 3 solid weeks on this beast.

I’m getting too old for this nonsense. Crawling around on the ground, doing all this plumbing and electrical work, digging ditches, spending thousands on parts? This doesn’t sound fun anymore. Maybe it never did. Maybe I just wanted to see if I could do all this hard work myself. Now that I’ve learned I can, I don’t want to. I want to play with my kids and make art.

Having gone to school to learn about refrigeration and HVAC, and now working in building automation which controls these elements, I have a good knowledge base for how all…

--

--

Christopher Robin
Something About Nothing

Apparently I put the AB prefix in front of normal. Recovering alcoholic, humorist, contemplatist, essayist, averagest, editor of my own reality.