When You Write Something Vulnerable, the Idiots Come Out

Reading a personal story isn’t a request for an opinion

Christopher Robin
Something About Nothing

--

this is a chicken looking at you. photo by author.

By writing personal essays, I have discovered truths about myself I didn’t know before. Each time I describe a moment, a thought, a snapshot of my mind, I learn something new. My creative pursuits are always about the thing that happens inside me when they find a way out.

When I write these kinds of personal stories, I try my best to convey many complexities of a situation in about a thousand words. I try to keep it brief because none of us have time to read anything longer than 5 minutes. However, understand that I was likely unable to explain the millions of variables, emotions, and idiosyncrasies involved in this fragment of my life.

And let’s be clear about something: when I write about a part of my life, I am NEVER soliciting advice. This is why many writers don’t respond or even acknowledge responses. If those responses are meaningful, I will respond. Unfortunately, a large percentage of the responses to our most vulnerable stories are devoid of anything remotely worthwhile.

Even though I tried to write a good story and include as much context as possible, rest assured, you know next to nothing about me, my life, or anyone in my life. What could you possibly think you know…

--

--

Christopher Robin
Something About Nothing

Apparently I put the AB prefix in front of normal. Recovering alcoholic, humorist, contemplatist, essayist, averagest, editor of my own reality.