How Should a Christian Respond?

“A Christian should be an Alleluia from head to foot” — St. Augustine

Joshua M. Baker
Dei Gratia

--

There are a lot of events that are taking place in our world that have rattled most everyone over the last few months. Israel and Hamas are violently trying to stake their claims to the Gaza Strip, the Ukrainian war, the massive oppression that ISIS has wrought on Christians in the middle east, the issue of race and police power like that in Ferguson, Missouri, all of which has grabbed our eyes and ears and has no doubt made us ask some very serious questions. We are experiencing a very chaotic period in history. And as politicians and law makers continue to sort through the rubble of confusion, a voice that once had tremendous power in our nation is trying once again to make known their opinions on matters that concern the world. That voice is the church, and over recent weeks I have observed as pastors have told us to be outraged, social media is burning with the opinions of outspoken “believers” who publicly address matters and weigh in on how they think these matters should be handled. Personally, I have received rebuke from several people who claim that I have been silent and unconcerned with the things that are happening in our nation and in the world. Hence, I wanted to take a moment and share why I have been reluctant to speak.

The Christian voice has lost it’s significance because we have failed to use it in the context in which Jesus commanded us, “be wise as serpents and innocent as doves…” (Matthew 10:16). If you are a Christian in the west, you should know that the majority of people consider us to be hypocritical, judgmental, overly political, radically against abortion, homosexuality, and insensitive to people’s struggles. Those are facts that were acquired and produced in Gabe Lions’ and David Kinnaman’s book, UnChristian. So, my caution to speak comes with great concern in demoting or defaming the precious name of our Savior. Therefore, within recent years I have asked God to humble me and help me to live by the words of St. Francis of Assisi, “Preach the Gospel at all times, and when necessary, use words.” Words are too powerful to go unmeasured. Hence, I would like to share 4 questions that I always ask myself before I respond to issues in the church or in the world around us.

How is my heart?

Scripturally, the heart of a child of God is in someway uncomfortable and broken because sin exists around us. Jeremiah was the prophet who wept for his people that were enthralled with the religions and idolatrous practices of other heathen nations. Jesus, wept for Israel before he went to the cross because He knew that they would reject the Gospel.

That was the purpose behind fasting in the Bible. Almost every time you see the act of fasting in the Bible, there was an element of heart brokenness at the center of the act. Prophets would fast, tear their clothes and cover themselves in ashes because they were connecting their flesh with the filthiness of sin that was at the center of their culture.

Therefore, when injustice happens around us it should break our hearts just as it breaks the heart of God. When we see the widows and orphans, the raped, the abused, the molested or the oppressed, it should weigh heavy on our hearts. To respond without first connecting with sin’s depravity is like trying to bake a cake without flour. It doesn't work and to try to respond to issues without first being grieved is prideful.

Have I connected with God?

So often we feel the need to respond without first communicating with God. I have tried to make it a practice to never go to battle on any matter without first bringing it before the Lord. As John Piper once stated, “Prayer is primarily a wartime walkie-talkie for the mission of the church as it advances against the powers of darkness and unbelief.” Prayer reinforces our faith and establishes clarity in situations and on matters that might be otherwise measured by emotion or irrationality.

Is the Gospel at the center?

The Gospel is what we are commissioned to deliver to the world around us. Not our opinions. So when we speak, are we genuinely concerned for the Gospel or are we concerned about our opinions being heard or our agenda’s being fulfilled? There have been so many times throughout my ministry that I have started to speak out and then realized that the Gospel was no where near my heart’s desire. The Gospel liberates the oppressed, it is hope for the lost, and it is the announcement of a just Kingdom that is going to supersede all other kingdoms. If these truths which are apart of Christ’s Kingdom are truly not at the center of our hearts, then anything we do in order to respond critically or objectively is an attempt to satisfy our own desires and not His.

Do I believe?

If the Gospel is true, then Christ is making peace with this chaotic creation (Colossians 1:18) which means that He will put an end to all sinful disturbances which exist. Does our response reflect that hope or are we trying to correct things on our own?

In Closing:

I am trying to be lesser in order that Christ can be greater. I do not propose that I have the right answers. I am bothered by Ferguson, Mo. I am grieved for my brothers and sisters in Iraq who are being crucified for their Christian faith (I also celebrate in their suffering for Christ’s sake). I am angered by the hostilities of war in the Ukraine and in Israel. However, I am committed to the Gospel. And the Gospel says that we live in the midst of a broken world. The Gospel says that God is Sovereign over all of His creation, even over every act of injustice. The Gospel says that Christ is putting an end to the injustices of evil. And the Gospel gives me hope that my eyes will see an end to these truths. If you want my opinion, that is what I hope to express. The Gospel has an answer to every crisis in our world. I hope that my words and actions ceaselessly announce such.

Therefore, let me suggest that we measure our opinions more carefully, and that we strive to constantly bring honor to the name of Christ. Furthermore, let me encourage you to avoid the temptation of reading this as a rebuke. I only want to exhort and encourage every believer and every church leader to reflect Christ’s image in word and deed. As our times continue to reflect the brokenness of a cursed creation, may our lives announce the presence of a superior Kingdom who is making peace with all of sin’s behaviors.

--

--

Joshua M. Baker
Dei Gratia

A writer, speaker, graduate student, and an ambassador for Serving Orphans Worldwide