Refocusing on Story for Creating a Mindful Experience

In the latest chapter of my thesis development process, I’m going back to develop a key part further.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Something Put Forth

--

Text & Design by Author

I’ll be rather bluntly honest and admit that the last week was a bit bumpier and not quite as productive as I had hoped it would be. However, while this week was a bit drenched in an uncertain rainstorm, I think I’m back on track to make more efficient progress in the coming days on my interactive fiction (IF) thesis project.

In the past few days, I did quite a bit of research on mobile projectors, the level of visual quality I could achieve with them, and see what I might be able to do with more modular components. It’s definitely possible to make a portable, physical IF interface and I could probably do it for no more than a few hundred dollars. However, while it’s possible, this would pose significant limitations to how much of a sense of place I could actually cultivate with the installation.

This week, I had a big decision to make.

When it comes to projects, I’m admittedly not the biggest fan of pivots. I like to put a good amount of time into my brainstorming, researching, and planning to avoid unexpected issues cropping up. Since I was a project manager in another life in a job…

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Something Put Forth

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.