Drugs

Celestine Ezeokoye
Sometimes I Ponder
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2017

I’m subscribed to The School Of Life on YouTube. One of only three channels that I’m subscribed to (the other two being Primitive Technology and Stanford GSB). I’ve been subscribed for well over a year and I enjoy their videos a lot. Many of the videos feel like something inside of me is telling me how best to approach life (confirmation bias & stuff, I think).

One video which stuck with me is a video on drugs. I find this video very interesting because, despite all the negative backlash on drugs it still has some of the most outstanding effects on the society.

Agreed, it’s absolutely important to dissuade kids from drugs, which taken without caution, could cloud their reasoning and prevents them from engaging in proper cognitive activities. However, given the notable effects of drugs on the outcome of philosophy, science, technology and the arts, isn’t it necessary for us to reassess outright ban on drugs? For personal adult use maybe.

We’ve heard tales of some of the most notable people doing amazing stuff under the influence of drugs. It’s not uncommon. Some people reach the zenith of their contributions to society under the influence and everyone is better off for it. Many time going against the law in the process. Imagine what the society would be like if Nietzsche didn’t try drugs. Or Picasso. Or Steve Jobs. Or Terry G.

A better, more progressive policy for secular societies would not be an outright ban, but to treat drugs more like sex & alcohol: discouraged vehemently from children, but properly and professionally advised on how to be discrete about use at adulthood. Like sex, many people are likely going to try it anyways.

--

--

Celestine Ezeokoye
Sometimes I Ponder

Rebel • Founder & CEO, WeMove Technologies (owners of WeMove.co) • Follow @WeMoveCo