Self-Improvement Is Masturbation

I can’t take it anymore. All these self-improvement and self-help videos, books, and articles, it’s getting out of hand.

Anonwit
Sonderness
Published in
4 min readOct 28, 2022

--

I’m sick and tired of this toxic mindset that everything you do should be focused on you getting better, richer, stronger, and more productive. It’s stupid.

Yeah, of course, you should focus on becoming the best version of yourself, but you should also focus on finding peacefulness and it can’t be found by struggling nonstop to reach perfection.

It’s been six months since I deactivated and deleted my Instagram and Tik-Tok accounts. Everything was so… toxic. Everyone wants to show off how amazing and successful their life is, and It started getting to me.

Every morning I’d watch stories on Instagram from people traveling to the places I wanted to travel, driving the cars I wanted to drive, and partying the way I wanted to party.

I would spend hours watching self-improvement videos on how to optimize my time, perfect my time-management skills, learn new skills, make money, and gain more muscle mass but without actually doing anything.

I’d spend countless hours on my phone dreaming and romanticizing over the idea of me reaching the best version of myself.

--

--