Abbreviation

A song parody of Anticipation by Carly Simon

Mark Starlin
Song Done Wrong
Published in
1 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

Play the video at the end of the story and sing along!

We can never know, acronyms are so dumb
But we rack our brains anyway
And I wonder if I’ll suss it out somehow
Or just wasting time I really should have saved

Abbreviation
Abbreviation
It makes me insane
It’s oh so frustratin’

And I tell you how easy spelling can be to do
And how right the words feel spelled fully
But I, I just curse those words you shrunk so slight
When I was thinking’ about your word amputee

Abbreviation
Abbreviation
It makes me insane
It’s oh so frustratin’

And tomorrow there’ll be another cipher
I’m no prophet, and I don’t like mayonnaise
So I’ll try to see into your mind right now
And quote Shakespeare ‘cause these are the weirdest days
These are the weirdest day

--

--