Easter Island Dreamin’

Sung to the tune of California Dreamin’ by The Mamas and the Papas

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
Song Done Wrong
1 min readApr 12, 2020

--

All the stores are closed
I ain’t received my pay
I’m itchin’ for a walk (itchin’ for a walk)
The mayor told me to stay (mayor told me to stay)
I’d be safe and warm (be safe and warm)
On an island getaway (island getaway)

Easter Island dreamin’ (Easter Island dreamin’)
Waiting for doomsday …

Dreamt about a beach
I was wearing a lei
Well, I tried to book a flight (tried to book a flight)
My browser said NO WAY (browser said no way)
Instead, I’ll just build a bunker (I’ll build a bunker)
’Til the virus goes away (virus goes away)

Easter Island dreamin’ (Easter Island dreamin’)
Like Hanks in Cast Away …

I’ve lost track of time
Is it a school day?
Maybe I will bake a pie (I’ll bake a pie)
Or learn to macrame (learn to macrame)
The Moai never catch a cold (never catch a cold)
I’ll be like them someday (be like them someday)

Easter Island dreamin’ (Easter Island dreamin’)
My pandemic holiday …

here is the original 1960s folk rock anthem, written by Barry McGuire and made famous by The Mamas and the Papas

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
Song Done Wrong

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"