MUSIC MASHUPS, TRACK 28

Impossibly High

A song parody of American Pie by Don McClean

Lon Shapiro
Song Done Wrong
Published in
5 min readMay 8, 2021

--

Photo by Chase Fade on Unsplash

Writers aren’t what I’d call social butterflies, so it’s rare to find a kindred spirit. On the other hand, great minds run in the same gutter.

It’s even more unlikely to find a writing partner like my friend Mike Range, who inspired me to parody Don McClean’s classic song “American Pie” while simultaneously writing his own version.

As I wrote back in our comment thread, “This almost feels like a Lennon-McCartney collaboration!” And anytime I approach a subject as sacred to me as song parodies, I’m serious.

A seriousness that takes on 1950s Hollywood biblical proportions.

Presenting a joint venture about joints, a buffet of bon mots, and a passel of puns. We climb the Mount Everests of song lyrics simply because they’re there. Mike’s lyrics are in bold, while mine are in italics.

--

--

Lon Shapiro
Song Done Wrong

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time