3 Of The Most Valuable Lessons I’ve Learned During The First Half Of My 20s

Lark Morrigan
Song of the Lark
Published in
5 min readJun 14, 2020

--

I’m 26 and a half, yet in some ways I feel that my growth isn’t as fast as it could have been, simply because I haven’t given myself the chance to properly sit down and process what I can gain from experiences in the first half of my 20s, regardless of how I might feel adversely about certain difficult memories that I’ve been too afraid to think about.

I keep finding myself stumbling into the same roadblocks, mainly mental and emotional ones.

I keep finding myself unconsciously gravitating towards mental self-harm even when my mind, heart, and soul are screaming for self-healing and permanent growth.

I keep finding myself running around in a feverish self-sabotaging cycle without stopping to think about how to break it for good.

But I know that these repeated patterns will continue to do me a disservice if I keep avoiding them. I need to get to the root of discontentment and taking what I’ve learned and moving on will at least guide me towards the right direction and encourage me to start processing feelings as they come instead of bottling them up and ignoring them for prolonged periods of time.

Here are some of the most valuable lessons that I’ve learned during the first half of my 20s:

--

--