The Answers I’m Seeking

Lark Morrigan
Song of the Lark
Published in
1 min readSep 23, 2020

--

My reflection in the water won’t give me
the answers I’m seeking or the truth I need,
and my eyes are lying to themselves, but my tears
say the words that my voice isn’t strong
enough to carry, I’m afraid they’re almost gone.

Who am I when I’m not yearning
for an end that comes in peace?
And who am I when I’m not reaching
for an aim beyond reality?

Who am I when I’m not seeking
a more glorious way to be?
And who am I when I’m not holding
onto a vision I’ll never see?

My illusions in the skies won’t tell me
the detours I’m taking or the steps I need,
and my mind is dying in itself, but my fears
make the call when my heart isn’t strong
enough to hold me, I’m afraid the spark is gone.

My regression in the grave won’t tell me
the anchors I’m keeping or the pain I need,
and my soul is crying for itself, but my years
take me back when my feet aren’t strong
enough to lead me, I’m afraid my path is gone.

--

--