Are We Lost in our Minds?

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2018

Imagine an hourglass in front you. No, really, imagine it. Now what do you see?

Are you looking at the sand reducing in the top bulb?

Or the sand accumulated in the bottom bulb?

Or each grain of sand passing through the neck of the hourglass?

Or maybe you are one of those who has teetered into a trance and forgotten about the hourglass altogether!

Regardless, your view of the hourglass will tell where you like to concentrate.

Looking at the sand in the top bulb, that is yet to pass?

Or looking at the sand in the bottom bulb, that has already passed?

Or looking at the sand passing through the neck of the hourglass?

Simply speaking, are you looking at the future, the past or the present ?

Are you able to pay attention to the “now” in your life? Or have you become too habituated to be “looking” into the future, so much so that you have invested all of your “now” into it?

The Head & The Heart’s folk melody called “Lost in My Mind” talks about something similar.

Put your dreams away for now
I won’t see you for some time
I am lost in my mind
I get lost in my mind

Whatever you’ve been hoping to happen in your future, your “plans” and such; put them away for a while. Just put them somewhere so that they’re far away from your sight. I know it’s very easy to lose oneself into those.

Momma once told me
You’re already home where you feel love.

I remember mother’s words. She always said “Home is where you find love.” Such simple words & true to its core.

Oh my brother
Your wisdom is all that I need
Oh my brother
Don’t you worry ‘bout me

My brother, all I need are your words. Your words of guidance. And don’t you worry about me. I’ve got all I need.

How’s that bricklayin’ coming
How’s your engine running
Is that bridge getting built
Are your hands getting filled

I wonder how are you going on with your life? Tell me about your life brother? Are you happy with the things you’ve been chasing? Are they fuelling your life good enough? Are you filling up your bank? Tell me how are you doing, brother?

Won’t you tell me my brother
’Cause there are stars up above
We can start moving forward

Brother, there’s so much more than just living our lives this way. There are other ways too. Look at the stars. They’re up so high in the sky, paving a way for us. Making a path for us to follow. All we have to do is follow them. Follow their light.

Let the lights guide us home brother.

All this life, all this time, we have been obsessing over the future, the past and everything that relates to them. In this turmoil, we aren’t even paying any attention to the present that we are missing out on.

We’ve been whiling away our life merely thinking about it and not living it.

We’ve been lost in our minds.

Let’s get the head and the heart together and live.

Let’s live each grain of sand passing through the neck of the hourglass.

Let’s live to live. Let’s be more mindful and grateful towards each moment.

--

--

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek

Solving problems. Writer. Of Curriculum, Code & Poems. Wanderer of the mind. Write letters. Meditate and love life.