Is Your Life Fading Into Black?

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek
Published in
3 min readApr 19, 2018

Is darkness taking over ?

Everyone has experienced at least once in their lifetime, a time when everything is dark as hell. As if one is falling into a pit, an abyss of solitude. And the feeling of being lost forever.

No self-worth, not self-respect, no self-love.

This, this is the time that is beautifully described in Fade to Black, by Metallica. It’s an old classic, still very relevant today.

Life, it seems, will fade away
Drifting further every day
Getting lost within myself
Nothing matters, no one else

Life too doesn’t escape the temporary nature of everything. It will too fade away like everything else. Every day is another step away from life.

There is no direction to myself. I search aimlessly inside myself. And now, nothing even matters. Not me. Not you. Not anyone.

I have lost the will to live
Simply nothing more to give
There is nothing more for me
Need the end to set me free

I have no purpose living this meaningless life. I should’t be alive. I don’t want to live anymore. I have nothing to give. Nothing to take.

I have nothing inside to be set free. I’m dead inside already. There is no me.

Things not what they used to be
Missing one inside of me
Deathly lost, this can’t be real
Cannot stand this hell I feel

Things are different now. I’m not the same. I was different before. It’s like I am missing myself inside me. It’s like myself has flew away from body.

I’m dead inside. I don’t feel nothing. I can’t believe this is happening. I can’t bear this state of emptiness. I just can’t stand this.

Emptiness is filling me
To the point of agony
Growing darkness taking dawn
I was me, but now he’s gone

There is this hollowness, this void. And it filling up sadness in me. The hole grew inside me, taking me down.

I took myself down. And now I can’t find myself anymore. And now I’m gone. I’m gone.

No one but me can save myself,
but it’s too late Now, I can’t think, think why I should even try
Yesterday seems as though it never existed
Death Greets me warm, now I will just say goodbye

Only I can save myself. No one knows how to be my saviour. But now I think it’s too late even for me. I can’t even convince myself to try. I don’t even know why I should try.

My past is all a sad haze to me. It’s a blurred mirror I can’t see myself in. It’s like I never existed before this moment.

But, now I finally see. I can see the end of me. It’s nearing each moment. I can see myself being pulled into it. It is sort of welcoming me into it. And now for our journey, here is my last goodbye. I leave, forever.

This song speaks volumes about dwindling idea in our heads about living this life or not. About taking it ahead or just giving it up to the darkness that engulfs us so deep that we’re barely able to even breathe right.

For anyone contemplating life or death, pondering about it yourself and then seeking feedback from a loved one is the best bet. I’m not saying “you need help”. All I’m saying is it’s best you talk this over with someone :)

Far often you’ll realise that you’re harder on yourself than you should be. If you’d be in your best friend’s place, you’d forgive yourself far more often than you do yourself.

Life is hard, there is no going around that. No one can escape that.

What you can do, is make peace with yourself. Pick yourself up. And rise.

This song, apart from being incredibly good with lyric, is marvellous with prelude that just pulls you into this melody. The guitar is especially worth the price we pay listening to it.

You can find the magical tune here.

--

--

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek

Solving problems. Writer. Of Curriculum, Code & Poems. Wanderer of the mind. Write letters. Meditate and love life.