There’s Always gonna be Another Mountain. You’re Always gonna Make It Move.

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek
Published in
4 min readMay 31, 2018

Are you living a life of peace, or just ticking off a list of goals?

Every once in a while, life throws ginormous tasks at you; and you pledge to take that task up. You work hard. Sweat and Blood hard. And after a long fight, you win. You get done with that task. You have finally made it.

Only after a short while, you notice something similar coming up. Something as huge as the previous task. And you are motivated to complete even this task!

But, without being mindful, this can quickly get tiring.
Worse, un-appealing.
Worst, demotivating.
Also, a close cousin of something what we are now calling a burn-out.

This happens because we’ve been treating life like a list of events to get done with. In lieu, it is an event in itself and we’re missing it’s whole point, because we’re in the hurry of finishing this up.

This very clear and thoughtful look at life is the essence of Miley Cyrus’s The Climb.

Before you jump to conclusions about this song, give this a shot. It’s not the average country-pop song you get on the radio.

Originally written by Jon Mabe & Jessi Alexander, Miley Cyrus had this song out in her movie Hannah Montana. The lyrics are as meaningful as simple they are.

I can almost see it.
That dream I’m dreaming,
But there’s a voice inside my head saying,
“You’ll never reach it.”

Sometimes, a life-changing moment arrives at your doorstep. It’s something that you have always wanted to do. But with the gravity of this task, a nagging voice inside you creeps in and sets the tone that “You’ll never make it.”

Your every move seems like a shot in the dark. A long shot. And you start to lose faith in it.

Eddie Stigson

Every step I’m takin’
Every move I make feels lost with no direction,
My faith is shakin’

But I, I gotta keep tryin’
Gotta keep my head held high

But you know it in your bones, that you’ve got to do it. You’ve set out to do this thing, and you can’t leave it mid-way. That’s not how you are. You don’t escape.

Because, honestly, there’ll always be something to pursue. Something to achieve. Something to chase. And it’s going to be really hard sometimes. And maybe, sometimes you will lose the battle.

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

But, guess what. It ain’t about how fast you “get done” with this task. It not the feeling of “I’ve done it” after you’ve finished the task. It’s about the climb.
It’s about the road you’re on. The path, leading to your mountain. That’s. That’s the important part of life. THAT’S life.

It’s always more about the road, than the destination.

The struggles I’m facing
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down,
But no, I’m not breaking
I may not know it,
But these are the moments
That I’m gonna remember most, yeah

Just gotta keep goin’,
And I, I gotta be strong
Just keep pushing on,

Every obstacle that comes your way, every bad turn. Anything that can knock you down. Don’t let it worry you. You might not know now, but these are the things you’ll remember later in life. All you need to do right now is storm through ahead. Keep pushing on!

Keep on moving
Keep climbing
Keep the faith baby
It’s all about
It’s all about
The climb

Keep the faith
Keep your faith

Keep your faith. Trust yourself. Just don’t give up.

Remember, it’s all about The Climb.

--

--

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek

Solving problems. Writer. Of Curriculum, Code & Poems. Wanderer of the mind. Write letters. Meditate and love life.