What does it take to be Vulnerable Again?

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek
Published in
4 min readMay 2, 2018

Can a void once created ever be truly filled again? Does it even need to?

Once bitten, twice shy. Right? Well, maybe.

Have you ever have had a time in a relationship where you’ve put in everything you’ve got, only to be pushed out of it, every time you try to settle in?

Have you ever had to end a relationship with a silent fight, without tears & all the yelling; and pick up the pieces of yourself shattered down on the ground that the relationship broke you into?

And then maybe, after a million sunrises later, you find someone again who you want to see in a light like you saw someone in your life before, but not quite that sort of a light. But similar though.

And now that you’re finding someone else again, real enough to build a trust again, you’re questioning the whole thing?

Well, Ryan Tedder ( frontman of One Republic ) wrote a beautiful song called Halo, just about all of this. And this is our SongOfTheWeek..

Beyoncé included this song in her album I am.. Sasha Fierce. And helped get this song be seen in new light. But today we’re more concerned with the content of the song, than the one who sung it.

Remember those walls I built
Well baby they are crumbling down
They didn’t put up a fight
They didn’t even make a sound

Babe, do you remember how I was so closed off before? How I never let anything real touch me? And now, the walls I built are crumbling down. I can see them melting away. With such ease.

I found a way to let you in
But I never really had a doubt
Standing in the light of your halo
I got my angel now

I have found the power in me to let you in. And I somehow knew I could trust you fully. With my whole heart. And now I’m standing right next to you. Looking at you. I can see I have got my angel now. I’ve got us now.

It’s like I’ve been awakened
Every rule I had you breaking
It’s the risk that I’m taking
I am never going to shut you out

I was uninitiated before. But now I’m awakened. Babe, trusting you & choosing you was a risk I took. I’m never letting you go.

Everywhere I’m looking now
I’m surrounded by your embrace
Baby I can see your halo
You know you’re my saving grace
You’re everything I need and more
It’s written all over your face
Baby I can feel your halo
I pray it won’t fade away

And now, your love has flourished this beautiful garden we’ve build. And I’m always surrounded with your presence. I can see the love in your eyes, on your face and feel inside my heart. You’re all I need babe.

A new light has dawned upon me. And that light is from your halo.And I hope it stays radiant forever.

Hit me like a ray of sun
Burning through the darkest nights
You’re the only thing that I want
Think I’m addicted to your light
I swore I’d never fall again
But this don’t even feel like falling
And gravity can’t forget
To pull me back to the ground again

Your love hit me right and got me through the darkest times. You’re all I want in this life. I swore I’d never fall in love again, that I’d never be able to be hopeful again. But you’ve helped me unlearn that. And I keep falling for you babe.

I feel see your halo, halo (And I pray it won’t fade away)

I can feel and see your love babe. I hope it forever stays.

Jaime Handley

It’s so beautiful to see someone address their vulnerability and accept someone with an open heart; a heart that has been hurt before. To be hopeful in a time, when even that would hurt.

Without much further ado, here’s a link to the song.

--

--

Kalpesh Mange
songoftheweek

Solving problems. Writer. Of Curriculum, Code & Poems. Wanderer of the mind. Write letters. Meditate and love life.