MUSIC ESSAY

I Had a Love Affair With Richard Marx

And now I’m right here waiting….

KiKi Walter
Songstories
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2022

--

Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

It happened so quickly, that it took my breath away. We could have been oceans apart, day after day, but I never felt closer to him at that moment.

I should preface this by saying from, say, 1988–1992 I was obsessed with Richard. I played his music constantly. I danced to Hold on to the Nights at my first wedding. Weird, I know. But I’m a sucker for smart, funny, melodramatic men. I have always called him just Richard. It was just natural that we were on a first-name basis.

It’s what Richard would have wanted.

Author’s Photo: Mama Ki at College in 1988.

I even saw him in concert in New York City. And he was great! He’s one of those musicians who sounds exactly like what he sounds like in the studio live on stage. At least he did back in the 90s. I haven’t heard him live lately.

--

--

KiKi Walter
Songstories

AKA "The Memoir Queen." Ki is the founder & publisher of The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, Black Bear, and more.