The “Love Story” That Captivated the World

I’ll be a Swiftie forever and always.

Bernice R.
Songstories

--

Taylor Swift singing and holding a guitar at a concert.
Photo by Adam Bielawski from Wikimedia Commons

I’m always told I’m “basic” for being a fan of Taylor Swift.

She’s one of the most famous artists in the world and her list of hits is as long as a phone book. She’s been called every name in the book and criticized for being a snake, a goody two-shoes, a self-serving white feminist. I don’t disagree with those claims, as they did describe her at several points in her career (and I think she can still work on the last one).

But when I think of music that I grew up listening to, I immediately think of her. She’s my generation’s Cyndi Lauper or Madonna, and while those two icons are untouchable and I am not comparing Taylor to them by any means, I think she deserves to be recognized for her talents as a singer and songwriter too.

When “Love Story” was released, I was thirteen years old and had my head in the clouds, which was why it resonated.

I was enthralled by the music video. Taylor was wearing a gorgeous white dress and looked like a princess, and I was just waiting for my prince to sweep me off my feet and ride off into the sunset. I had also just read Romeo and Juliet in class, loved that this song gave them the happy ending that Shakespeare didn’t give them.

--

--

Bernice R.
Songstories

Personal essays, pop culture, and punning. Subscribe to my newsletter for a dose of all three in your inbox: https://bernicespieces.eo.page/newsletter