When a Popular Song Becomes Your Life…

Miss Arte
Songstories
Published in
4 min readJul 29, 2022
Photo by annaav from AdobeStock (Standard License)

I didn’t want this to be a rant… Although I think it turned into one.

Now, I would like to start this by saying I listen to mostly everything when it comes to music. I love songs that move me, inspire me and make me feel something. Then there is this song… and the first time I heard it just caught me off guard.

It’s not like I haven’t listened to explicit songs before, however, this song was on the radio at 9am in the morning. I hadn’t expected it to provoke such an emotional reaction, an emotion that I try hard to keep in check. Anger. Although it did… for 2 reasons.

The first that was part interesting, looking past my lack of emotional control… I learn something about America. The radio will block out selected words in songs… this is not uncommon in the UK either, however, what added to my shock was the word ‘dam’ in front of the word God will be removed… however, FU in concession… well, that’s completely acceptable.

When you’re driving to school with children in the car, this song doesn’t feel appropriate. Although, past that…

On a more personal note, if you have read anything else I’ve written lately, you would have probably felt the presence of the ‘small print’.

You know the context stating that my life decided to explode… Well, there wouldn’t be an understatement any bigger, or smaller… no pun intended.

This song resonated in a way I wish it hadn’t. It brought back all the feelings I was trying to work through. I was honestly, hopelessly caught in an angry cycle… hitting me at a part of my life, that seems completely uncontrollable. It seems to have currently consumed me… my sole focus right now, is trying to understand, what went wrong… whilst also trying to climb the mountain of emotions that keep arising.

The best part about all this is, writing, well, that has helped massively… although that wasn’t the reason I started writing on Medium. So I am hoping this song is a full circle for me and that soon… I will be over it too. I will be able to sing a laugh with this song, not sing and feel anger or sorrow for what I have lost.

Song Lyrics

Fuck you and your mom and your sister and your job
And your broke-ass car and that shit you call art
Fuck you and your friends that I’ll never see again
Everybody but your dog, you can all fuck off

I swear I meant to mean the best when it ended
Even tried to bite my tongue when you start shit
Now you’re textin’ all my friends asking questions
They never even liked you in the first place
Dated a girl that I hate for the attention
She only made it two days, what a connection
It’s like you’d do anything for my affection
You’re goin’ all about it in the worst ways

I was into you, but I’m over it now
And I was tryin’ to be nice
But nothing’s getting through, so let me spell it out

A-B-C-D-E, F-U
And your mom and your sister and your job
And your broke-ass car and that shit you call art
Fuck you and your friends that I’ll never see again
Everybody but your dog, you can all fuck off

Nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah
A-B-C-D-E, F-U

You said you just needed space and so I gave it
When I had nothin’ to say you couldn’t take it
Told everyone I’m a bitch, so I became it
Always had to put yourself above me

I was into you, but I’m over it now
And I was tryin’ to be nice
But nothing’s getting through, so let me spell it out

A-B-C-D-E, F-U
And your mom and your sister and your job
And your craigslist couch and the way your voice sounds
Fuck you and your friends that I’ll never see again
Everybody but your dog, you can all fuck off

Nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah
A-B-C-D-E, F-U
Nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah, nah
A-B-C-D-E, F-U

And your mom and your sister and your job
And your broke-ass car and that shit you call art
Fuck you and your friends that I’ll never see again
Everybody but your dog, you can all fuck off

--

--

Miss Arte
Songstories

British sexually curious women making life changing choices, exploring love, having adventures and writing about all of it in a very confusing world!