You Don’t Know What Love Is

Until you've learnt the meaning of the blues.

John Walter 📣Therapy and creativity
Songstories

--

Image by the author using Canva and Pixabay

This song is permanently engraved on my heart.

I am a jazz pianist and composer. I love the songs from the great American songbook. I studied all the modern jazz greats and created my own voice over many years.

Three years ago I was up late watching Smalls Jazz club Live.

I like to listen in to the late-night Jam sessions. Musicians who have been working in New York that night like to come and share a drink and maybe join in for a tune or two.

I was captivated when a singer ambled up and sang this song. What surprised me most was that I had never heard it before. I have played jazz for 45 years, and this was an old song that was new to me.

You don’t know what love is
’Til you’ve learned the meaning of the blues
Until you’ve loved a love you’ve had to lose,
You don’t know what love is.

I hunted it down. I listened to a dozen different versions. I began to create my own piano version of it, teasing out the…

--

--

John Walter 📣Therapy and creativity
Songstories

Counsellor, jazz musician, AI Art nerd, bereaved father. Writing about my experience. Listening to yours. https://johnwaltercounsellor.com/