You Were Always On My Mind

Songstories are coming back

Christopher Robin
Songstories

--

photo by author

Maybe I didn’t love you
Quite as often as I could have

And maybe I didn’t treat you
Quite as good as I should have

If I made you feel second best
Girl I’m sorry I was blind

You were always on my mind
You were always on my mind

Throughout my life I have been exposed to a wide range of music. None were more influential than those first few years of life when my dad was playing with a well-known local country band. My earliest memories are filled with country legend Willie Nelson.

Always On My Mind was one of those songs. It was written by Wayne Carson, Johnny Christopher, and Mark James, and first performed by Brenda Lee in 1972, and later by that year by Elvis, just after he split with Priscilla. My favorite is the Willie Nelson version, and I can still here the sound of my dad’s Fender Stratocaster on the simple guitar solo.

Their band was called Sagebrush. The would end up winning a statewide battle-of-the-bands-type contest in 1983…

--

--

Christopher Robin
Songstories

Apparently I put the AB prefix in front of normal. Recovering alcoholic, humorist, contemplatist, essayist, averagest, editor of my own reality.