Why Songwriters Should Diversify

Cliff Goldmacher
Songwriting

--

Looking back on twenty-five years as a songwriter, I’ve come to realize that a big part of the reason I’ve been able to do it for so long has as much to do with my ability to diversify my musical pursuits as it does with my songwriting ability. Another way to put this is that there are very few thoroughbreds in the music business. I’ve come across only a handful of songwriters over the years who write songs as their sole form of income. The more you do in music, the greater the likelihood that you’ll be able to endure. While I refer to myself as a professional songwriter, I’m also a music producer and educator. By diversifying, I’m always doing something that keeps the lights on and keeps me moving forward and growing. I’ve put together a few of the most important reasons songwriters should consider alternate musical pursuits in service of a lasting music career.

Read more…

--

--

Cliff Goldmacher
Songwriting

Cliff Goldmacher is a professional songwriter, producer, author and educator with recording studios in Nashville, TN and Sonoma, CA. www.CliffGoldmacher.com