Argue Your Way to Success!

The Pivotal Moment of My Career

Thomas Hodges
Life Hacks for Business

--

In 2005, I had just graduated from Georgia State University. With a fresh BBA in hand, I accepted a staff position at a large public accounting and advisory services firm. I was on top of the world, and I knew exactly what it was going to take to be successful (like all 20-somethings do).

A few weeks into my employment, I was scuttled off to assist with a project. The engagement was in a very small town, and the people that worked at the company had often been there for a generation. Here is this city slicker (and worse, kid) pushed in front of them to ask questions, verify their answers, and report back on what they say is true or not. The role is adversarial by nature, and at that age, I knew everything. Trouble was brewing.

One morning during a typical interview with the client, we had a discussion about how Accounts Payable Turnover Ratios were being reported. Thrilling stuff. We first discussed the reporting pleasantly, then a little more excitedly, then a little more forcefully, and finally with a shade of red in each of our faces. We were only a few decibels short of all-out screaming.

A much quieter, calmer voice in the room spoke up and asked that we continue the conversation later. The request could not have come any sooner. My guardian angel was a Senior Associate at the same firm I worked at. He had the challenging job of managing client satisfaction, our work completion, and my obvious need for improvement.

Fortunately for me, he did the single greatest thing possible for my career. I’m sure he’d like to think it was intentional, but he lucked into the right person at the right time in the right situation. Away from the client in a private room, he said the following:

What just happened in that room can never happen again. You should be able to recognize when a client is becoming agitated. Adversity will happen many times in your career, and you will not succeed unless you are capable of handling situations with composure and professionalism. I won’t ever tell anyone that this happened, and I expect that you will learn from the mistake you made.

The last thing he said kept me from leaping out the nearest window for fear of losing my job. That afternoon, I met with the client again and apologized for letting the conversation get away from me. We re-visited our previous discussion on reporting of the ratio and agreed on the language. We had a chuckle, and that was it. I found out later that he always wanted me to come back and work with him because we were able to take such a negative experience and have a positive conclusion.

It took a couple of years of reflection to understand how much value I gained from that argument. It was pivotal for several reasons. Here are four incredible lessons I learned:

  1. Communication is the single greatest factor for immediate and long-lasting success: This point can not be understated. You will only be able to develop meaningful and strong relationships through effective communication with others. The more you improve your communication skills, the easier it will be for you to talk to your peers, clients, customers, and employers (potential or current). The value is immeasurable.
  2. Adversity follows you everywhere: We all know how difficult life can be. There can be a misconception that adversity won’t exist in our professional lives or that it will be limited. However, it will show up frequently and often unexpectedly. The most successful people will maintain composure in the face of adversity.
  3. Criticism is an opportunity: It’s not easy to hear that you have failed or that you are not meeting expectations. However, by seizing the chance to improve on the impression you make on others, you can greatly increase your chances for future success. By rejecting criticism, you will significantly limit your ability to grow, develop, and become more successful.
  4. Success is often found through the help of others: Without the support of my Senior in that instance, I am certain my career would be in a different place today. I can’t express enough gratitude to the individuals instrumental in my success. It is possible to be successful through your own efforts, but it is much more likely that others will assist you. Acknowledge those people, and support others along the way.

There will always be points in our careers that we would like to take back, but the difficult moment I have shared had the greatest impact on my career to date. It has also influenced how I communicate with others in my personal life. I wish for you all to avoid the situation I placed myself in. If not, I hope you gain as much experience and appreciation for personal growth as I did. Best of luck on your adventure!

If you have any lessons you have learned from a challenging situation or questions you would like answered, please leave a comment or contact me on Twitter at: @freesuccesstips

--

--

Thomas Hodges
Life Hacks for Business

A benevolent attempt to improve the lives of others through well-meaning, thoughtful advice anyone can follow to meet an unimagined success. @freesuccesstips