The tech I use every day

Itay Alush
SooSpaper
Published in
4 min readApr 3, 2021
Photo by Oliver Pecker on Unsplash

These days technology is a huge part of all our lives. We use it every day for things from keeping in touch with friends to managing our bank accounts. Personally, I love keeping up with all the latest tech, and so I’m here making a list of all my favorite tech I use every day.

My PC

Sometimes some tasks just require a good old-fashioned PC, and as someone who does a lot of gaming, having a powerful PC in the home is great. I got this PC last year, and with the shortage of new GPUs around it’s not the latest hardware, but it does the trick. My specs are:

OS: openSUSE Tumbleweed
Motherboard: Z390 M GAMING
Kernel: 5.11.6-1-default
CPU: Intel i9-9900K (16) @ 5.000GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
Memory: 3515MiB / 32028MiB

As you can see, my OS is openSUSE Tumbleweed. For those of you who haven't read any of my other articles yet, openSUSE Tumbleweed is a flavor of Linux that I love and use every day. For more info you can read my article about it:

My watch

I’ve had an interest in smartwatches ever since they began to gain traction. I loved the idea of having my watch being an extension to my phone, but in the beginning, they weren’t that useful. I used to own an LG watch sport. Released back in 2017, it had a Qualcomm Snapdragon Wear 2100 CPU that was quite slow compared to what we have today, and with the old version of Google’s Wear OS we had back then, it was interesting, but mainly a gimmick. But then, two years ago, I purchased Samsung’s Galaxy Watch. Released about a year and a half after the LG watch sport, it was a huge leap in quality, performance, and general usefulness. It uses Samsung’s “Tizen Based Wearable OS” and it works fantastically.

My audio tech

I’m a big music nerd. I listen to hours upon hours of music every day, and to make that experience more fun, I own some exciting pairs of headphones and speakers.

Starting us off with the headphones I take with me just about everywhere — Sony’s amazing Wh-100XM3’s. These headphones pack a punch with amazing sound, and the best noise cancellation I’ve ever had the chance to use. For the price, they are a truly amazing pair of headphones.

https://www.amazon.com/WH-1000XM3-Wireless-canceling-Headset-International/dp/B07H2DBFQZ/

But what if you wanted some open-back headphones? I got you covered. The Grado SR80e’s have some amazing sound for the price. They are handmade, and they sound amazing. They have rich sound, and incredible depth, all for a really low price of 100$.

Apart from headphones, sometimes I like to sit down with friends and listen to music together. That’s why I own the Ultimate Ears WONDERBOOM 2. It’s a really compact, cheap speaker that I can take with me anywhere without having to worry about it since it’s waterproof. Great purchase if you like sharing music with friends or family.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07NFRCK7J/ref=twister_B07ZPQ2KCS?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

My VR headset

VR, or Virtual Reality, has come a long way since the release of the Oculus DK1 back in 2012. It has become way more realistic, and way cheaper, too. More and more competition in the market has caused VR to become better and better, and as a show of what VR has become, the Oculus Quest 2 has been released. It doesn’t have the best display, the best strap, or the best audio, but it has one thing going for it — it’s really, really cheap compared to the competition. For just 300 USD you can get yourself a standalone VR headset. That just goes to show how fast the tech has evolved. I own a Quest 2, and I can safely say it is one of the best entry-level VR headsets around.

https://www.amazon.com/Oculus-Quest-Advanced-All-One-2/dp/B08F7PTF53/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?

To summarize, I use a lot of tech every day, and these are my top picks. If you have any other recommendations, be sure to comment them!

--

--