Writer’s Blog #3

In class this week we discussed topics surrounding social media, social interactions, language, and how all these ideas have shaped the way we think. Being a Social Media and Digital Communication major, I was so excited to dive deeper into what social media is doing for the people using it and how it can be problematic at times. The articles I have read have given me a lot of insight into this topic.

Sophia Ortiz
Sophia’s Digital Writing
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

My view of social media has altered overtime. I used to think social media was a fun environment for all people to be free to share their opinions and allow themselves to show who they are to the world. In some ways this is still true however, sometimes the opinions that people share are not kind. I have come to discover a new term called cyberbullying. Cyberbullying is when people use social media or technology to embarrass, target, or harm a person. Social media also makes it 10 times easier to do this action. People have more confidence to say mean things when they are hiding behind a screen and not face to face with someone. Saying something negative about another person is completely wrong. I do not understand how some people find joy in causing public humiliation to another person. These actions of bullying online can sometimes lead to some horrible effects. People need to be more aware of the seriousness of this issue. How would they like it if it was the other way around and the cyber bully was the one being harassed online. They definitely would not like it. Cyberbullying is a very popular downfall from the use of social media apps.

I am the type of person who tries to find the good in any situation. Although there are people out there who may not like my content, I enjoy posting about my life on my social media pages. I usually find myself posting on social media the most when I am on vacation. When I went to Spain and France in the summer, I felt that I needed to post every little thing that I was doing or it didn’t actually happen. I was so focused on getting the perfect picture with the Eiffel Tower instead of actually taking in the moment. There were times I found myself walking around the city with my face in my phone editing all the pictures. This made me miss out on the unique skylines, the gorgeous buildings, and the different landmarks that these places contain. I now really wish I would have simply enjoyed this beautiful city that I have never experienced before instead of putting more attention on what people see on my social media. Also, if my phone internet was not working and my content would not post onto my social media then it would ruin my mood. I now realize that this is a crazy way to think. Overtime I have allowed for a switch in my mindset. I now appreciate all the little things in life way more and care less on what is shown to my social media followers.

--

--