Writer’s Blog #6

Sophia Ortiz
Sophia’s Digital Writing
3 min readMar 11, 2024

Unlike most people in life, school does not come easy to me. Assignments that take people 20 minutes might take me twice that amount. Throughout school one of my biggest struggles was reading comprehension. I would always dread the days that I had to sit down and read a long article that was assigned. This is because I would have to constantly go back to the beginning and re-read it over and over in order to fully understand what the author is saying. There were times where I became so frustrated that I would convince myself that I was not as smart as the other kids in my class so what is the point in even trying.

Enrolling in my Digital Writing for Social Action class allowed for my mindset to switch in a positive way. I realized the importance of making writing more visual. This benefits the way that people read and their attitude towards it. Personally, I enjoy reading way more when there is visuals involved such as pictures and/or graphs. These visuals help the reader to gain a better understanding of what they are reading. It also makes it more fun and entertaining for them when they have something other than words to look at.

Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

This is why when I post my blog posts I always make sure to contain images. I try to split up my paragraphs with pictures in between them. This is so the reader can have a breather moment before they continue reading. This is helpful for me because I can focus on one section, take a mini break then move on to the next. This style of writing really benefits me so I thought maybe it would be beneficial for others as well. Before uploading my writer’s blog posts, I am always trying to take into consideration the way someone will read my article.

Although visuals can be very helpful while reading there is a mistake that some people often make. The image, graphs, or any other visual the writer might use must have relevance to what is written. If there is a visual that is placed in the reading that has nothing to do with what it is about then it will just confuse the readers even more. There should be a purpose behind the visual images that are placed in the writings.

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

I am so happy that I was more informed about this topic and I enjoyed discussing it in class. I will keep all the tools I have learned with me forever. This way my writing will stand out compared to other writers. I am gaining a love for writing that I did not know I had. It is the best outlet for me and allows me to be vulnerable. It is such a great release. I can not wait for what we have to learn about next.

--

--