My Depression Song of 2020

I’m A Rockstar — lyrical poem

Giovanna White
Sotto Voce
2 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Verse 1 –

One blink away from oblivion

One foot fall from bliss

Can’t take anything serious

How’s life worth living like this?

It’s calling me further, the icy cold

The shivers so far out of reach

Tell my friends it’s time to go

There still hope after all I’ve seen?

Chorus –

I’m a Rockstar, I’m a Rockstar, I’m a Rockstar

I’m a Rockstar and I do as I please

I’m a Rockstar, I don’t see your sacred faces

I am a Rockstar, I am my liberty

Verse 2 –

Who’s holding me down? What’s your name?

Childhood’s a dream, don’t remain the same

Give me something to kill the pain

Save me from my misery, the hurt, the shame!

Bridge –

Oh I can feel it getting colder

Should I get back up? Should I overcome?

Never laid my head on a shoulder

Is it crazy to think that better days will come?

Closing bridge –

Gotta get back up, put my head in the game

I wrote this song while in the depths of a bad case of depression during the lockdown season of 2020. Now I have overcome that feeling and can look back on this song with a fondness, feeling grateful for how far I have come. For all those going through a tough time out there, I am hoping that you find the strength to carry on. Sending you love and light at the beginning of this year. As always, stay kind and curious. ❤

--

--