Remembering My Oldest Daughter, my Oldest Sister

Even after almost three years, the memories remain fresh

John Rehg
Soul Attitudes
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2022

--

Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

It’s been almost three years since my oldest daughter passed away. Today she would have been 43 years old, had she not contracted a late-stage cancer that she succumbed to about a year after her diagnosis.

We didn’t have the best of relationships, and the last year of her life gave us a chance to reforge our father-daughter bond. It was not a year I would trade for anything, other than the final outcome.

She didn’t find it easy to share her feelings, other than her feelings of hurt when she felt slighted on a job. Most of the time, she focused on the good things that were happening, or the wild adventures she went through, like when she got a flat tire.

So for most of her adult life, I watched her from afar. I followed her on social media, and heard from her sisters and brother about some of the things that she experienced. When she asked for help, I helped her, but this was rare.

I wonder how long we think of those family members who’ve died before we begin to put them away, file them in the back of our memory. I remember Mom once remarking that she found herself talking to her mom, out loud, even five years after her mom died.

--

--

John Rehg
Soul Attitudes

Author, publisher, and software developer. I love to write about food, health, spirituality, humor, tech, and travel. I share insights I’ve learned in life.