Dear Orion passing by

A poem written for the stars , highlighting the theme of choosing what feels right above what feels easy.

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Art source : Pinterest (Katsuo , pixiv)

Dear Orion passing by ,

do you see me walking down that road again?

hoping that old path leads me to the woods

an open land beyond tomorrow ,

where yesterday doesn’t exist-

and life is as peaceful as death seems to be

I walk hand in hand with my wonderings ,

and perhaps thoughts are my best company

as I wander under the sea of stars above ,

venturing further into my heart’s alley-

lit by the soft glow of the fireflies of time

Dear Orion , I have a question in my mind

oh must the Sun be in pain to burn so bright-

and do the stars fight till their dying breath

to keep the Light alive against the dark of the night ,

being enshrouded by the void and yet be full of Life

I think I was born in this world as a whisper in time

forever my name will belong to these Earthly winds-

and as long as my breath comes and goes ,

I pray my heart shall willingly be set ablaze with love

let kindness defy the forces of the cruel storm

Dear Orion passing by ,

isn’t the pain worth burning bright against the dark of the night?

© Nitya Sharma 2023. All rights reserved.

Gratitude note :

Poetry comes to me in waves as of late. Sometimes it breaks like a tide at the shore and other times , the salt of the sea barely touches my skin. But the water is there , it is always there.

Thank you for taking out the time to read my poem , dear reader. I cannot begin to express how thankful I am for your patience and your kind support.

A special thanks to Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar for always being there to read my poetry and for accepting to publish them on her publication. Hoping you are doing well!

I am humbled by your loving claps , reads and shares. As I have said before , your comments never fail to uplift me , they keep calling me back to writing here. Please feel free to let me know your thoughts and views in the comments. Any sign that someone is out here reading what I write , pulls me back to trying and penning down words for them and for poetry.

Keep asking me to come back here and write once in a while , won’t you dear reader?

Thank you for reading. Until next time , take care :)

--

--

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay

Student of Life. Learning poetess who is seeking her purpose. Instagram poetry blog : @nityavachanam