Echoes of Eternity

A poem inspired by the quote : “I am a collection of dismantled almosts” written by Anne Sexton, Anne Sexton: A Self-Portrait in Letters

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay
2 min readNov 26, 2023

--

Aaron Nakahara aka Cobalt Plasma (American, based Kula, Maui, Hawaii, USA) – Moon Pool Teleport, 2016, Digital Arts: Paintings

I am the fading faith sacrificed at the holy altar ,

passing past the shadows of the flickering flame

Oh how the ghee in the lamp overflows-

the fire hungrily rising to swallow my name

I am the hand slipping out of yours in farewell ,

let the yellow leaves and blue skies begone in time

Oh how it all never halts and goes on-

turning to ashes and dust before I can claim it as mine

I am the hopeful breath caged within your ribs ,

waiting to escape with the ever impatient heart

Oh how this river never rests-

with a current so furious that I fear I might just fall apart

I am the prayer composed of slipping syllables and words half alive ,

tunes and tones of “oh” and “what if” held within

Oh how it’s melody stretches over till eternity-

as if the ice of time has melted into drops of heavenly Life akin

©️ Nitya Sharma 2023. All rights reserved.

Gratitude note :

Dear reader , thank you for taking out the time to read my poem. It fills my heart with immense joy when I come across your uplifting comments and claps. Your reads and follows motivate me into expressing my thoughts in much better ways through words.

I feel like I an owe an apology to my regular readers for my inconsistency in posting poetry on Medium as of late. How thankful I am for your kind patience and understanding!

I feel indebted to Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar for providing me with such a welcoming platform on her beautiful publication. Please accept my humble thanks.

Thank you for your kind company on this journey , dear reader. Until next time , take care.

--

--

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay

Student of Life. Learning poetess who is seeking her purpose. Instagram poetry blog : @nityavachanam