Festivities of Light/Memories/Introspection

Future of Insides

Put the Lights On

Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar
Soul Bay
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2023

--

A nywhere I stand, the road flows like a river.
Endless. I float.

I hold the night in my palm and see my reflection
in its beauty. In its calm
night’s eyes kohl smudged

If you ask me what was I doing
on the highway that night
I would say : listening to the road sing

Ask the last lone man walking the street
through the smoke of evening mist
waiting to be hitchhiked home, whistling away to time
he would answer : jamming with the road

Lights draw a pattern
take the shape of the path ahead
on the dark sheet of night
giving an old nook a new look —

The reason I love to photograph night lights
re-touch to create my own city
where two minds can walk miles holding
their hands, humming their favourite tune
stealing smile from the moon….

Shimmering neon, wet from rain
now, it rains all the year, un-rostered
amplified by desire
sprinkling some freedom to the sky

My mind looks for those days ’n nights of laze
wondering from leaf to leaf in search of words
thoughts inebriated, negotiating fatigue
tiptoeing towards future of insides

I walk through this neon-ated dark searching don’t know what
Can you put the lights on?!

T he metamorphosis is palpable. A nip in the air, clear sky, chirpies finding their freeways after the longest rain spell. The passing whiff carrying that quintessential fete-e-fragrance.The uncanny-ness of shortening days and lengthening of festival season, amidst the shadow of frost and chill, cannot be missed.

Amongst all the festivities that mark the ensuing festive season around the world, one is Diwali, the biggest gala in South East Asia, which is also called the Festival of Lights.

It commences with Autumn cleaning. Houses smelling of fresh paints, interiors swanky with new furniture, neighbourhood shimmery with incandescent fairy-lights hanging from house-heads, plunge the purlieu in celebratory fervour.

As nature outside tunes into the carnival mode, silent vicinages are suddenly abuzz and lighted with local shops mushrooming with festive materials, local markets thronging with busy buyers.

And festivities seep in unnoticed.

As my fingers knead into the cottage cheese dough being readied for some homemade sweets (festive specialty), my cranium gets busy listing the purchasable.

Like the last few years, the pottery lamps, flowers, Rangolis ( colours for decoration) all to be purchased from locals, carry in me the smiling faces following the purchases, sharing the festive merriment with people who need the most.

Held generally in the first week of November, a typical Diwali day would mean, decorating the whole house with flowers, tea lights welcoming friends, family, to a day and evening of music, dance, bonhomie with lots of food, wine, and laughter.

Not to forget a prayer offering for Lord Ganesha, considered God of wealth and prosperity, as per Hindu mythology.

As my heart smiles at the thought and soul warms up being surrounded by the gossamer sheath of glowing Diwali memories of yesteryears, I envisage the first evening dews on my coleus leaves, glistening under the twilight sky.

Light Cafe: Not my usual Diwali this time but banking on some good memories of recent years.
Things are not as bad as I might be sounding, but I am lagging behind my target of setting up my place.
A little impatient to get back to my creative routine, but still a good few days to go before I reclaim my space.
Till then wishing everyone on the festival of lights. It doesn’t matter if you celebrate traditionally or not, we all need light….don’t we?!
HAPPY DIWALI

Light collage (Canva) of clicks from various time and occasions, Diwali included, Photo_Nefelibata.in © Monoreena

--

--