Published/Live Session/Art of Living

How My Diagnosis of an Autoimmune Disorder made Me a Poet and Moments of Eternity Happened

From Realms of Dream to Reality

Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar
Soul Bay
Published in
4 min readSep 29, 2023

--

Whatever be the shape of your dream(s) you walk a thin robe….Photo_Nefelibata.in Monoreena

No-Wifi-hotspot-enabled existence doesn’t work well with Medium.
This also means notifications dry up or become slow to arrive.
But that perfectly matches with my speed now, as the season changes its attire and my autoimmune demons look for comfortable chairs to sit on.
Initial days are difficult as you have to reset your system to the desired speed, dealing with your fatigue and getting ready for another brumal long haul.
What feels different is the aloud-journaling inching towards its second anniversary and wondering how redundancy can brew fine, aromatic arabica beans when you learn to find the seeds hidden under a thick layer of snow……

I can’t wipe out a smile from my face as I sit down to write this article which is somewhat due — not many days ago would I think this was even possible.

But here they are, adding to the year’s glossary, which makes me more introspective about my ways of dealing with my life before.
You learn from your mistakes and in your quiet space know they are the cornerstones of reaching this place today, with a little more confidence and knowledge about Me.
So, without much ado, here we go —

Moments of Eternity: A Book of Poetry

Getting published is not something new for me but this one is special.

Though I have been part of Poetry anthologies closer home, this has been a collaboration with poets around the world, whom I read, admire and write along side.
When Dr. Gabriella Korosi warmly kept a note asking me to participate in this global collaboration to be poetically bound, these were good reasons to agree.

The Book, titled “Moments of Eternity”published by Dancing Elephant Press
houses 14 talented poets ( and me) and poems from them which is on racks in all book-selling platforms.

Listing Poets:

William J Spirdione
Dr. Fatima Imam
Warren Brown
Sanghita Pal
Divya Goswami
Leah Lynch
Buddhi Ruparathna
Christopher Grant
Carmen Micsa, MA in English, podcaster
Lisa Precious / Smiley Blue
Garima Sharma
Nancy O & Me

Thank you to the Editors: Dr. Gabriella Korosi Annelise Lords Dr. Preeti Singh Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles, for taking such effort to create this beautiful keepsake.

Each poet has ten of their poetries and you can find some wonderful reviews by the fraternity once you take a look at the book, available with Amazon, Barnes & Nobles, Apple Books Scribd, Vivlio, Smashwords amongst some others, in both paper back and e-versions.

Find further details as compiled by Editor Dr. Gabriella Korosi here :

https://medium.com/dancing-elephants-press/the-gift-of-books-and-poetry
https://medium.com/dancing-elephants-press/moments-of-eternity

The Cover has been designed by Annelise Lords which has lend the book a unique look.

I sincerely hope you will find the paperback/e-version and let us know what you thought about it !

Photo by Author

How My Diagnosis of Autoimmune Disorder made me a Writer and Medium a Poet: Live Session,Medium Day

I have to pinch myself to believe I did this.
Switching on the camera to share my journey of health ordeals thus far and for the world to see how an autoimmune flare looks like?!
But you know in this online world where there is a raging debate on authenticity, it is important to makes the right noise and it is after a lot of deliberation did I decide to go ahead with this Live Session, though the date suggested my flare in full swing.

I wanted to give the words I having been sharing thus far a ‘face’, which can work better towards understanding the problem.

If your intent is right and goals clear, you can overcome inhibitions in a way it’s not only useful for others but also fruitful for yourself.

Because I found this figures pretty interesting as I did a quick check.
Of 223 videos of the sessions uploaded and 219 available for viewing, only 4 has crossed 200 views including mine/ours as of now.

This is not to take away anything from the other sessions, but only taking some serious encouragement and inspiration.
I have tuned in to some of the sessions by my poet/writer friends which I actually enjoyed.
To mention a few: Scribe sessions with Sam Aureli and Somsubhra Banerjee.

I also enjoyed conducting my/our session (much to my surprise) and found chatting with my co-panelists Somsubhra Banerjee / Manali Mitra a very relaxing experience.
And yes, we have plans to go ahead with some more on-camera literary discussions/ poetry reading sessions from Soul Bay in times to come.
I will speak about it in some details when it’s time to cross the bridge.

Time to sign-off. Hope this finds you having a good day.

Till we talk again,
Monoreena

Youtube upload of the recording of my/ours Live Session on Medium Day

--

--